Friday, September 07, 2012

US DOT Creates National Freight Policy Council

At Wednesday's RAMP meeting, Carl Seip from Senator Maria Cantwell's office gave an overview of updates on federal transportation policy.

With MAP-21 passing earlier this year, the federal government established a national freight policy and called for the creation of a National Freight Strategic Plan.  However, until recently, there was no clear body implementing these provisions.

Two weeks before the RAMP meeting, U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood and Senator Cantwell came to Puget Sound to announce the the creation of the Freight Policy Council.  The Council will include leaders on highways, rails, ports, and airports with the goal of bringing all modes together to keep the United States' competitive and increase exports.

The full press release from the US Department of Transportation can be found here:

Tuesday, September 04, 2012

RAMP 9/5 @ 8AM

Agenda - 9/5/12
The Fabulich Center
3600 Port of Tacoma Road; 98424
8:00     Welcome & Self-Introductions                                  
            John Wolfe, Co-Chair, Port of Tacoma                        

8:05     Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century (MAP-21)
            Charlie Howard, Puget Sound Regional Council

8:20     Federal Transportation Update
            Carl Seip, Senator Cantwell’s Office

8:30     SR 509 to East D Street Slip Ramps
            Jilma Jimenez, BergerABAM
            Tom Rutherford, City of Tacoma

8:45     Round Robin
9:00     Closing Remarks & Adjourn
            Pat McCarthy, Co-Chair, Pierce County

Next RAMP Meeting
Wednesday, October 3rd - 8:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. – The Fabulich Center

RAMP is a regional coalition including business, labor, public and private organizations and citizens dedicated to improved mobility in the South Sound and Washington State.  Our mission is to ensure a healthy regional economy associated with the development of an effective, efficient transportation system and the resources to sustain it. RAMP is co-chaired by Pierce County Executive Pat McCarthy, Port of Tacoma CEO John Wolfe and Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber President & CEO Tom Pierson.